stud
bud
Sign up
Log in
Home
Library
Explore
SAT
More
Pennsylvania State Cosmetology Laws & Regulations Flashcards | StudBud
Explore
/
Pennsylvania State Cosmetology Laws & Regulations
Pennsylvania State Cosmetology Laws & Regulations
50 terms
·
StudBud Administration
·
2,719 plays
#metrobeautyacademy #102daysmrsullivan #pacosmetologylaw
Flashcards
50 cards
F
Practice quiz
P
Host live
L
Questions
50
Answers
1
All fines are paid to the department and they in turn pay the:
Mr Sullivan's Savings account
Professional Licensure Augmentation Account
Professional Cosmetology Credit Account
PA License Cosmetology Account
2
Creams and other semi-solids substances should be removed with what?
hands
applicator brush
spatula
spoons
3
Clean towels shall be kept in a ____ ____.
wet sanitizer
dry sanitizer
a drawer
laundry basket
4
How many members are on the State Board of Cosmetology?
12
13
11
10
5
If you do not receive an application for renewal, what do you do?
Notify the State Board in writing, email or phone
Notify the State Board in writing or phone
Notify the State Board in writing, email, phone or fax
Notify the State Board in writing or email
6
A temporary license is good for how many months?
9 months
1 year
3 months
6 months
7
What does an owner of a shop have to do to change the location?
submit an application to the county
submit an application to the board along with a fee
submit an application to the board
submit an application to the state along with fee
8
An owner/applicant for a shop license shall submit three things to the State Board. They are:
blue print; name and license of manager; license fee
blue print; license fee
shop address; décor colors; retail shelves
license fee
9
What is the required square feet for an additional operator?
80
50
70
60
10
All services done outside the shop must be recorded in a(n):
address book
appointment book
notebook
two post it notes
11
Electrical appliances shall be properly installed and _____.
exposed
grounded
ungrounded
covered
12
Hands should be ____ before and after each guest.
sanitized
wiped off
dirty
washed
13
Booth space is _____ in Pennsylvania.
prohibited
illegal
who knows?
legal
14
State Board eligibility requirements for a Teacher:
500 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
300 hours; 12th grade education; 18 years of age
500 hours; 12th grade education; 18 years of age
1250 hours; 12th grade education; 18 years of age
15
License that haven't been expired for more then 4 years may be renewed how?
paying all fees and current renewal fee
paying all fees
current renewal fee
place license in escrow
16
An article that has been dropped on the floor shall require what level of sanitation?
steralization
sanitized
disinfected
discarded
17
Licenses are good for how many years?
2 years
3 years
1 year
4 years
18
Discrimination of any person because of race, color or religion is strictly _______.
illegal
legal
allowed in cities
prohibited
19
Before any license shall be suspended, the license holder shall be notified in ____ of charges.
phone call
email
a carrier pigon
writing
20
A shop shall display at or near its main entrance a ____ that is clearly visible.
sign
chalkboard
exit sign
neon lights
21
Neck dusters, powder puffs and sponges are ____.
legal
nasty
illegal
prohibited
22
The owner must must immediately notify ____ ____ of change of ownership.
Metro Beauty Academy
The Township
The State
The State Board
23
Dirty towels should be kept in a ____ _____.
closed container
laundry basket
open container
on the floor
24
State Board eligibility requirements for a Esthetician:
they do not require a license
300 hours; 10th grade education; 18 years of age
300 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
200 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
25
As an owner if you chose to take on an apprentice, what are the regulations apprenticeship?
at least 16 yrs old; 10th grade ed.; 4 yrs exp; Cosmo Lic
at least 23 yrs old; 10th grade ed.; 5 yrs exp; Teachers Lic
at least 23 yrs old; 12th grade ed.; 5 yrs exp; Teachers Lic
at least 18 yrs old; 12th grade ed.; 5 yrs exp; Teachers Lic
26
An individual holding a cosmetology license is qualified to perform what functions of a:
Cosmetologist; Cosmetician; Nail Tech
Make Up Artist; Hair Stylist; Nail Tech
Cosmetologist; Cosmetician; Manicurist
Cosmetologist; Esthetician; Manicurist
27
When is the expiration date of a license?
January 1st
January 31st
December 31st
January 12th
28
If a cosmetologist is not engaged in the practice of cosmetology what do they need to do?
write to the State Board to place license in escrow
write to the State Board
write to the State to place license in escrow
don't do anything
29
The State Board requires that all individual licenses and permits must be displayed in what?
a conspicuous place
on the Moon
a hidden place
a non-conspicuous place
30
State Board eligibility requirements for a cosmetologist:
1250 hours; 12th grade education; 16 years of age
1250 hours; 10th grade education; 18 years of age
1260 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
1250 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
31
The headrest of a facial chair shall be covered with a ____ _____.
sanex strip
paper
clean towel
dirty towel
32
If a license or permit has been lost or stolen who needs to be notified?
Mr. Sullivan on speed dial
The County Office
The cosmetology school
The State Board
33
The floor space of a one license shop has to have what square footage requirements?
180 sq ft; minimum width 10 sq ft
180 sq ft; minimum width 15 sq ft
160 sq ft; minimum width 10 sq ft
200 sq ft; minimum width 15 sq ft
34
A school must employ ____ teacher for every ____ students.
2 teachers for every 25 students
1 teacher for every 25 students
1 teacher for every 24 students
2 teachers for every 30 students
35
Eligibility requirements are waived for:
a corporal; 30 years of age
a solider; 35 years of age
a veteran; 25 years of age
a veteran; 35 years of age
36
Any person who fails to renew his/her license for a period of ______ years shall be suspended.
3
5
2
6
37
Each shop shall display in a conspicuous place, the phone number of:
Metro Beauty Academy
The FDA
The State Board
Mr. Sullivan's Batphone
38
A guest many not be left unattended during the ____ or _____ period of a perm procedure.
processing; heating
processing; neturalizing
perming; unwrapping
heating; cooling
39
What must be kept for services performed outside the shop and available for examination?
time card
sign in sheet
record
a post it note
40
Licenses are renewed how often?
bi-annually
annually
every year
every two years
41
State Board eligibility requirements for a Nail Technician:
300 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
200 hours; 10 grade education; 18 years of age
200 hours; 10th grade education; 16 years of age
200 hours; 12th grade education; 16 years of age
42
A holder of a temporary cosmetology license shall practice under the supervision of a:
Licensed Cosmetologist; Licensed Teacher; Licensed Manager
Licensed Cosmetologist; Licensed Nail Tech; Licensed Manager
Licensed Cosmetologist; Licensed Teacher;
Licensed Natural HB; Licensed Teacher; Licensed Manager
43
The Board has a right to ____, _____, and/or _____ licenses.
cancel, take away and/or burn
renew, revoke and/or put into escrow
issue, expire and/or renew
renew, revoke and/or suspend
44
A licensee who uses a dye, tint, or other chemicals shall follow the ____ _____.
manufactures directions
teachers directions
ISO Option Perm directions
manufactures picutres
45
Students practice upon the public for pay is:
allowed
prohibited
allowed on Saturdays only
illegal
46
A school of beauty culture must be ____ sq ft with an additional ___ sq ft for the theory area.
180 sq ft; 10 sq ft
2700 sq ft; 750 sq ft
2750 sq ft; 750 sq ft
2000 sq ft; 700 sq ft
47
What types of individual licenses are there?
Teacher; Cosmetologist; Esthetician; Nail Tech; Natural HB
Cosmetologist; Esthetician; Nail Tech; Natural HB
Massage; Cosmetologist; Esthetician; Nail Tech; Natural HB
Teacher; Cosmetologist; Massage; Nail Tech; Natural HB
48
Styptic pencils are _____ in Pennsylvania.
allowed only in nail salons
illegal
prohibited
legal
49
When was the Beauty Culture Law enacted?
May 3, 1933
May 23, 1993
May 13, 1933
May 3, 1923
50
A licensee shall refuse to serve a guest whom they believe has a ____, ____, or ____ disease.
infectious; contagious; communicable
contagious; pre-infectious; communicable
safe; harmless; non dirty
infectious; contagious; spreadable