stud
bud
Sign up
Log in
Home
Library
Explore
SAT
More
Duplicate of State of Michigan Cosmetology Laws Flashcards | StudBud
Explore
/
Duplicate of State of Michigan Cosmetology Laws
Duplicate of State of Michigan Cosmetology Laws
60 terms
·
StudBud Administration
·
87 plays
A Quiz to review the Laws and Rules governing the Cosmetology industry in the State of Michigan
Flashcards
60 cards
F
Practice quiz
P
Host live
L
Questions
60
Answers
1
If your license is expired between 1 day and 60 days, the late fee is:
$10
$20
$24
$30
2
How long does the department have to acknowledge a complaint?
1 month
1 week
15 days
1 day
3
What Article within the Occupational Code Governs Cosmetology specifically?
Article 12
Article 11
Article 111
Article 1
4
If a person is practicing cosmetology with an expired license, its essentially the same as:
being a cosmetology student
having no license at all
having a provisional license
being licensed
5
What happens if a salon moves or changes ownership?
A new license can be applied for within 30 days after change
The license is void, a new one must be applied for
The salon must shut down for 30 days
6
In a salon, these
3
qualifications are required of the person who is there daily to supervise;
18 years old
Not less than 3 years experience.
Licensed
Not less than 1 years experience.
7
How many members of the board have to be a licensed instructor within 3 years?
7
1
3
5
8
Application for license renewal must be received on a form provided by the department _____
With a current address provided
On or before the expiration date
All of the above
With all appropriate fees being paid
9
How many members of the board are members of the general public?
9
1
3
6
10
Age requirements for a Cosmetology, Manicuring and Esthetician license?
21
16
18
17
11
A school shall have 1 instructor for no more than _____ students
20
5
15
10
12
What are the board responsibilities?
Have parties and spend money.
Interpretation of the laws.
Protect the health and safety of the public.
Set minimal standards of acceptable practice.
13
If you are attending a cosmetology school, you are considered an apprentice:
False
True
14
Cream and other semi-solid substances shall be removed from their containers with:
A spoon
Your fingers
A spatula
A knife
15
What is the number of hours required for a Cos student to practice on the public?
200
350
150
500
16
Where will the license renewal application get sent?
Last known address or email of licensee
The licensee's parents' house
Last known salon address
Instagram
17
The two year renewal fee for Cosmetology is?
$48
$100
$10
$24
18
When granting licensure to someone from another state with DIFFERENT license requirements:
Have them repeat Cosmetology school
Credit 100 hours for each year of experience
Make them take another state board
Credit 100 hours for every 6 months of experience
19
Esty & Nail students are eligible for up to ____ hours of training out of the school?
400
35
50
110
20
Who oversees the Director's Office of Cosmetology?
Department of Licensing And Regulatory Affairs
Department of Homeland Security
Department of Cosmetology Management
The Governor
21
How many hours are required for a manicurist license?
1000 hours
600 hours
300 hours
400 hours
22
What is the fee for a duplicate license?
$24
$48
$30
$10
23
How many of the board members have to be involved cosmetologist?
12
3
9
6
24
What is the maximum number of terms a board member may be reappointed?
2
1
3
5
25
What is in acceptable disinfection solution for blades, tools, implements or clippers?
Gasoline
70% alcohol
Acetone
100% alcohol
26
What can a student or licensee not carry in their pocket?
Chapstick
Business Cards
Breath Mints
Any equipment/tools/implements/supplies
27
If you renew your license after the expiration date, you must pay the renewal fee plus:
Pay a late renewal within 15 days of the expiration date
Retake both practical and theory exams
Pay a late fee up to & including 60 days after exp. date
Pay an extra $100
28
After the first year with your licence, how often do you need to renew?
Twice every year.
Every year
Every Two years
Every five years
29
If you are caught doing services unlicensed or in an unlicensed business, punishment could be:
A felony, $1000 fine and/or 1 year in jail
A misdemeanor, $100 fine and/or 30 days in jail
A misdemeanor, $500 fine and/or 90 days in jail
A misdemeanor, $1000 fine and/or 1 year in jail
30
Students may do services outside of school if:
Do services in a licensed salon
Charge client only for product used.
Services are performed on family only.
Don't charge the clients
31
How long are terms of board members?
4 years
1 year
6 years
5 years
32
To take the State Board exam you must:
All of the previous choices
Pay a fee
Leave your phone in your car.
Show your photo id
33
Students cannot be in attendance for more than:
7 hours a day OR 40 hours a week
12 hours a day
6 hours a day OR 32 hours a week
45 hours a week
34
How many hours can a Cos student earn OUTSIDE of school? (unassigned hours)
35 hours
50 hours
1500 hours
110 hours
35
Who's responsibility is it to change the home and email address on file with the department?
The board
The salon manager
The licensee
The police
36
What does S.D.S. stand for?
Student Data Sheet
Standards for daily success
Michigan Shows Daily Sheets
Safety Data Sheet
37
When in violation of State Board rules, State Board may:
Imprison you
Fine you
Put you on probation
All of the previous choices
38
If someone is found to be rendering services with no current license they may be punishable by:
A misdemeanor, $500 fine and/or 90 days in jail
A felony, $1000 and/or 90 days in jail
A misdemeanor, $500 fine and/or 30 days in jail
A misdemeanor, $100 and/or 30 days in jail
39
What is NOT a requirement to be granted a cosmetologist license?
At least 17 years old and of good moral character
High School Diploma
Completion of 1500 hours of training and completion of MPAs
Pass the state board examination & register with the state
40
Cosmetologists license shall be kept.
In the back break room
Locked up in a super safe place, like a safe deposit box.
In a prominent place, like your. station
In the owners office.
41
Which of the following is considered unsanitary?
Possessing a dirty kit
Body odor
All of the other choices
Wearing soiled clothes
42
What is NOT a requirement to become a cosmetology instructor?
Licensed cosmetologist with minimum 3 years experience
Completed 500 hours of instructor training
A college degree
Passes a state board examination
43
Which of the following is NOT a step during a blood spill procedure?
Immediately stop the service
Dispose of blood spill waste in labeled containers/bag
Ask bleeding person to fill out a medical release form
Provide the client first aid supplies to cover the wound
44
Student records have: Attendance, Enrollment/Completion dates, Final Grade, Copy of Contracts &
MPA's/List of Services in Clinic
Hours/Copies of All Notes
Hours/Self Assessments
Hours/MPA's
45
If a person has all the requirements to be an instructor except the 3 years experience...
They can get a limited license
They can only teach the 3 services they do the best
They get an assistant instructor license
Nothing, they have to wait
46
How often does State Board inspect a school?
Bi-annual
Twice yearly
Semi-annual
Once every 6 months
47
How often does State Board inspect a salon?
Once yearly
Every other month
Never
Twice yearly
48
Schools have to report enrollment of a new student and registration fees within how many days?
30
60
120
90
49
Can a salon and cosmetology school or house be in the same location?
Yes, if they are separated by a full partition and doors
No, never
Yes
50
If openflamed service is being offered there must be a ___type fire extinguisher within ___feet
1 ABC/ 1 Foot
1 ABC/ 20 Feet
1 XYZ/1 Foot
1 XYZ/20 Feet
51
Schools must keep records of past students for a minimum of how many years?
1
5
7
10
52
Cosmetology licenses are due for renewal on what day?
Your birthday
December 31
Anniversary of the day you received your license.
August 31
53
The board has how many members?
6
12
9
15
54
State board may revoke a license for habitual drinking, working without a license and
Failure to display a license
Working on clients without hair and make-up done
Bringing your baby to work with you while you have clients.
Wearing mis-matched socks
55
How many hours are required for an esthetician?
1000 hours
400 hours
300 hours
600 hours
56
The Public Act that pertains to Cosmetology .
Public Act 152 of 1952
Public Act 299 of 1980
Public Act 12 of 1979
None of the other choices
57
The Occupational Code governing Cosmetology in Michigan is:
Act 200 of 1989
Act 299 of 1980
Act 299 of 1989
Act 209 of 1980
58
____ is the minimum passing grade on practical and theory exams, & State Board practical exam
70%
80%
65%
75%
59
What happens if a student is found rendering services on anyone outside of beauty school?
Lose all hours
May be ineligible to apply for licensure
All of the above
Fail the program
60
Who appoints the director of licensing and regulation?
Ms. Garrett
The Senate
The Governor
The President