stud
bud
Sign up
Log in
Home
Library
Explore
SAT
More
Minnesota Laws and Rules Flashcards | StudBud
Explore
/
Minnesota Laws and Rules
Minnesota Laws and Rules
75 terms
·
StudBud Administration
·
762 plays
Minnesota Cosmetology Laws (statute) and rules reveiw
Flashcards
75 cards
F
Practice quiz
P
Host live
L
Questions
75
Answers
1
What is a requirement to obtain a Certificate of Identification
Attend a 35 hour class
Own a salon
Be employed in a salon
Take a written test
2
Any disinfectant used in a salon must be registered with the EPA as a
Tuerburlacide
Fungicide
Barbicide
Pesticide
3
What is one form of documentation need to apply for a license
Two year degree
Marriage license
Diploma or GED
Proof of age
4
Combs and brushes can be stored with items that are sanitized
once a week
at the end of the day
<p>after each use</p>
when they look dirty
5
An area, room, or rooms used to offer cosmetology services is considered a
Office
School
Bathroom
Salon
6
If someone has written proof, Cosmetology Rule say they have what
Compensation
Licensed
Documentation
Evidence
7
Licensees are not allowed to keep tools in
Their pockets
Their sation
Their closed container
Their dispensary
8
At the conclusion of an inspection, who are the results discussed with
Owner and manager only
Owner, manager or designated person
Owner, manager, or stylist
Owner, manager,or receptionist
9
Who do you mean when referring to the "Board"
Board of Barbers
Board of Cosmetology Examiners
Board of cosmetology staff
Department of Commerce
10
What additional education is needed besides cosmetology to become licensed
Diploma or GED
Life of hard knocks
Licensing
Psycology
11
A licensee who violates cosmetology law or rule may receive a fine of how much per violation
$2000.00
$1000.00
$1500.00
The first one is free
12
If you fail to renew your license before the last day of your birth month you are considered
Unlicesened
Late
In a grace period
Licensed
13
A violation of any law (statute) may result in
Active or inactive license
Suspended or revoked license
New or renewed license
Replacement or duplicate license
14
Rollers, clippies, and perm rods must be cleaned how often
Daily
weekly
yearly
Monthly
15
To become a licensed Nail Tech how many hours must be completed
315
400
250
350
16
Storage cabinets for clean towels must be WHAT at all times
Washed
Locked
Open
Closed
17
There shall be a separate work station for each
Manager
Receptionist
Client
Licensee
18
Where should current license of salon personnel be posted
Manicure or facial rooms
Supply area or restroom
Dispensary or work station
Reception area or work area
19
What is the minimum amount of liability insurance must you have each claim
$20,00.00
$10,000.00
$15,000.00
$25,000.00
20
Before applying for a license, a cosmetology student must complete at least
2200 hours
1550 hours
1350 hours
1575 hours
21
How many hours in a licensed salon are required for a certificate of identification
1500
1550
3700
2700
22
Supplies which contain any caustic or harmful materials shall be labeled as what
Used on clients
Accessible to clients
Inaccessible to clients
Reviewed by clients
23
Each salon must have a manager on duty when
Until their shift is over
when they feel like it
until 6:00pm
At at all times salon is open
24
If a salon changes it's name, how many business days do they have to register the change?
90 days
120 days
30 days
60 days
25
A physical location in a salon that we keep supplies, products, or chemicals for mixing is
Bathroom
Dispensary
Storage room
Office
26
Once you are licensed you are responsible to
Maintain proper records
Renew your license
Build a clientele
Always look your best
27
Each styling station should contain a chair, mirror, and
equipment holders
Phone
Storage
Stylist
28
What is required to do services for pay outside of the salon
Drivers license
Special events license
Diploma or GED
Nothing
29
When does a salon license terminate
Change of ownership and manager
Change of location and clients
Change of ownership or location
Change of ownership of stylists
30
If an item is clean, no frayed wires, or holes and fully operational is considered to be
Disinfected
Sanitized
Good repair
Clean
31
A current copy of WHAT pertaining to cosmetology must be available to all personnel
Minnesota laws and rules
BCE Board meeting dates
Client names and addresses
Health Insurance policy
32
How many hours does a cosmetology student need to be able to take their written test
1325
1375
1350
1300
33
Who is responsible to to maintain the salon license?
Manager
Stylist
Owner and manager
Receptionist
34
A person managing a salon must hold what license
Barber
Nail
Stylist
Manager
35
How does Thom walk
Strut
Run
Stumble
Jog
36
If you have not worked in a salon for less than three years what must you do to renew
No additional work needs to be done
Retake a laws and rule test
Pass certification of skills
Forty hours of education
37
Licensing is required to ensure what for the public
Health and safety
Confidence
Respect
sanity
38
Equipment that has been sanitized must be stored in what
Kept in sanitation salotion
A clean closed nonporous container
A clean closed porous container
In A closed drawer covered with a clean towel
39
What must your license be to become inactive
Inactive
Renewed
Current and active
Under three year of working in a salon
40
A practictioner who violates any provisions in the laws section is guilty of what
Felony
Gross misdemeanor
Being stupid
Misdemeanor
41
When done with school, you have how many years to apply for a license before your hours go away
3 years
they never go away
2 years
1 year
42
If a salon chooses to offer unregulated services they must be posted in what area of the salon
Reception area
Bathroom
Shampoo area
Styists station
43
Before each use, what equipment must be disinfected
Stations
end wraps
combs
clippies
44
What besides a fee is required to obtain a manager's license
Original passing scores of cosmetology test
Proof of 2800 hours
Support of salon owner or manager
Original passing scores managers of laws and rules test
45
What is one requirement to renew a license
49 hour refresher with in 3 years
1150 hours of practice with in 3 years
400 hours of practice with in 3 years
1800 hours of practice within 3 years
46
How long is a special events license good for
duration of the event
One year
as long as you want it for
The summer
47
One extension cord can be used at a station that does not exceed
Four feet
Six feet
Eight feet
Ten feet
48
Select the unregulated service
Eyebrow tiniting
Shampooing
Ear piercing
Make-up
49
How often CAN a salon be inspected
When renewing salon licenses
Twice a year
Once a year
Any time
50
When doing a service you notice lice what should you do
Stop service and inform the client
Inform client when service is over
Finish service
Gross out
51
Which one IS NOT required to obtain a special event service permit?
Pay the fees
Pass a written exam
Apply on approved form
Have an active managers license
52
All violations cited by the board staff shall be corrected in how many business days
15
10
30
20
53
How much is it to renew an operator's license
$81.00
$57.00
$118.00
$123.00
54
What license is need to do nails in at home for compensation
Cosmetology or Nail
Salon and managers
Salon
Salon, nail or cosmetology, and managers
55
You must notify the department within how many days after changing ownership of a salon
10
30
1
60
56
Every salon must have a What on duty at all times
Owner
Manager or owner
Stylist
Manager
57
A notice stating that the salon has been inspected and can be requested to see it is called
Report availability notice
License notice
Public notice
Inspection notice
58
How long is a passing test score good on a written licensing exam?
6 months
3 years
3 months
12 months
59
Any written or graphic representation designed to elicit sales of goods or services is called
Color formula
Services list
Client list
Advertizing
60
All bottles and containers shall be WHAT to disclose their content
In a glass container
Labled
Correctly and clearly labeled
Open containier
61
What do you do if Thom is your client
Tell him to leave
walk away
give him to someone else
shave his head
62
The state of Minnesota requires all persons practicing cosmetology for profit be
A Manager
Free from debt
Licensed
18 years of age
63
How old is Thom
54
50
25
109
64
Who is responsible for salon sanitation and maintaining individual licenses?
The individual, Salon owner and Manager
Board of cosmetologist examiners
Your mom
Receptionist
65
Violation of any cosmetology laws (statute) and rules may result in what type of penalty
State
Federal
County
Legal
66
According to Cosmetology Rule, when something is signed and notarized it is said to be
Documentation
Evidence
Legal
Proof
67
An example on a nonporous container is
nylon
Cloth
plastic
ceramic
68
Services not defined as the practice of Cosmetology and are exempt from regulation are
Free
Unregulated
Regulated
Advertisment
69
Failure to recieve notifacation from the Board does not give you the excuse for what
Not renewing you license
Working in an unlicensed salon
Not using proper sanitation
Displaying you license
70
If there is an address or name change on a license it must be done in how many days
10 days
before you get inspected
30 days
20 days
71
How many hours are needed to become a licensed Esthetician
350
600
500
650
72
How long must tools be submerged to be considered sanitized
over night
What does submerged mean
Ten minutes
Fifteen minutes
73
What is the initial fee needed to receive your cosmetology license
$100.00
$195.00
$250.00
$150.00
74
Clean means
dipped in disinfectent
washed with hot soapy water
spit shined
dried with a towel
75
A cosmetology license is good for how many years
Life
Three
Four
One