stud
bud
Sign up
Log in
Home
Library
Explore
SAT
More
IL Rules of the Road 2019 Pt. 1 Flashcards | StudBud
Explore
/
IL Rules of the Road 2019 Pt. 1
IL Rules of the Road 2019 Pt. 1
72 terms
·
StudBud Administration
·
1,853 plays
Pages 1-27
Flashcards
72 cards
F
Practice quiz
P
Host live
L
Questions
72
Answers
1
Vision requirements include...
No glasses or contact lenses allowed
Sunglasses or tinted prescription lenses in daylight
At least 140° peripheral vision
Visual accuity of 20/40
2
Rear-facing child safety seats should never be installed in front of an active air bag.
False
True
3
After stopping & yielding, drivers on a 1-way may turn left on a red light onto another 1-way moving to the left
True
False
4
Illinois law allows photography & use of cell phones at an emergency scene.
False
True
5
What is the fee for a Driver's License obtained prior to the expiration of the Instruction Permit?
$20
$10
$30
Free
6
The lap belt should be worn across the hip bones, not the soft abdomen.
False
True
7
The Secretary of State keeps records of traffic violations and crashes by drivers licensed in Illinois.
True
False
8
Any cellphone use while driving, including a hands-free device, is prohibited for a driver under age 19.
True
False
9
When making a left turn into oncoming traffic, accelerate so you don't crash.
True
False
10
Which of the following is NOT a program related to the driver's license?
Evasive Driver Certification
Selective Service
Organ/Tissue Donor Registry
Voter Registration
11
How long must you hold an Instruction Permit before you are allowed to apply for a Driver's License?
12 months
30 days
24 months
9 months
12
Once a minor obtains a Driver's License, a parent cannot cancel it.
False
True
13
Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit in alleys?
25 mph
30 mph
15 mph
20 mph
14
If you cheat on a Driver's License exam, you will be banned for life.
True
False
15
Which of the following is a requirement for potential drivers under age 18?
must pass 3 parts of driver's license exam
must complete a driver education course
must complete 50 hours of practice driving
Must be at least 16
16
When should you check vehicle controls, including the parking break & mirrors, & adjust seats & safety belts?
As you pull out of the parking space
Before the vehicle is put into motion
Before the key is placed in the ignition
When exiting the vehicle
17
When a police officer stops you, you should exit the car & meet the officer at the side of the road.
True
False
18
Initial Licensing Phase - A traffic conviction may extend restrictions beyond age 18.
False
True
19
New drivers do not have to take a driving exam if they get a perfect score on the written exam.
True
False
20
A licensed driver under age 18 may work as a pizza delivery person.
False
True
21
When emerging from an alley, driveway, or private road, who has the right of way?
A
B
22
When a pedestrian is in the marked crosswalk in front of you, you should...
Accelerate & swerve
Stop & yield
Slow down & honk
23
Always yield to a person with disabilities.
True
False
24
When approaching a stationary emergency/maintenance vehicle, you must...
Proceed with caution
Change to a lane away from workers
Yield
Slow down if you cannot change lanes.
25
You do not need a valid Illinois driver's license to drive a farm tractor between farm buildings & nearby farmland.
False
True
26
Which of these drivers may ride in the front passenger seat while you drive with an Instructional Permit?
Your 17-year-old friend who got her driver's license a year ago
Your 43-year-old mom with a driver's license
Your 16-year-old sister who just got her license this month
Your 22-year-old cousin with a driver's license
27
Which of the following is required of drivers when approaching or entering a highway construction area (work zone)?
Proceed with caution
Slow down
Yield to authorized vehicles
Change to a lane away from workers
28
What is the first thing you should do if the police stop you while driving?
If there is no shoulder, find the next safest location & pull over.
Speed up & drive home as quickly as possible.
Slam on the brakes & stop right where you are.
Slow down & pull over onto the right-hand shoulder.
29
How are driver's licenses printed for persons under age 21?
They are printed vertically.
They are printed horizontally.
30
Permit Phase - Hands-free cellphone use is allowed anytime
True
False
31
Initial Licensing Phase - nighttime driving restrictions are the same as the Permit Phase.
False
True
32
If you enter an intersection while the light is green, you may finish the turn even though the light turns red.
True
False
33
Construction zone speed limits apply only when workers are present.
False
True
34
Initial Licensing Phase - During the first 12 months or until age 18, the number of passengers is limited to...
0
1 in fron seat + none in back
1 in front seat + number of safety belts in back
1 person under age 20, unless passenger(s) is sibling/child of driver
35
Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit on 2-lane highways & rural areas?
65 mph
60 mph
55 mph
70 mph
36
Yield the right of way to other drivers, bicyclists or pedestrians when making a right turn on red after a complete stop
False
True
37
Where should you stop at an intersection with a stop sign or flashing red signal?
Where approaching traffic can be seen, if there is no crosswalk/stop line
Over the crosswalk
Before the crosswalk, if there is no stop line
At the stop line
38
Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit on 4-lane highways?
65 mph
55 mph
60 mph
70 mph
39
How long is the Instruction Permit valid?
9 months
24 months
4 years
12 months
40
Who is required to wear a safety belt or use a child restraint system?
Only drivers & passengers in the front seat.
Only drivers & passengers under age 16
Only passengers under age 8.
All drivers & passengers
41
Traffic violation: appear in court with parent & attend a traffic safety school.
False
True
42
If a police officer stops you, what should you do with your hands?
Reach into your wallet for your I.D.
Reach across the car for your phone.
Start searching for the insurance information.
Keep hands on the steering wheel until the officer instructs otherwise.
43
Children 12 and under should sit in the back seat.
False
True
44
How far from the air bag should drivers & passengers sit?
Air bags are a safety device; you can safely sit as close as you want.
At least 10-12 inches
As far back as possible
6-8 inches
45
What should you do when encountering a funeral procession?
Join the procession in order to pass a vehicle in the procession
Yield the right of way
Drive between vehicles in the procession
Honk
46
What should you do if you cannot identify an unmarked police vehicle?
Turn on hazard lights. Drive slowly & carefully below the speed limit.
Pull over at a well-lit, populated location.
Go to the police station & attempt to attract the attention of a uniform.
Call 9-1-1.
47
C arrives first. A & B arrive at the same time. After making a complete stop, who goes SECOND?
C
B
A
48
If you change your name/address, you have __ days to notify the Secretary of State.
7
30
10
60
49
C arrives first. A & B arrive at the same time. Who goes FIRST after making a complete stop?
B
A
C
50
How many attempts to pass the Driver's License exams are allowed within 1 year of the date the application fee is paid?
1
4
3
2
51
How often must a licensed driver retake the written exam?
Every 4 years
Every 2 years
Never, if the driver has no traffic convictions
Every 8 years
52
Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit in school zones on school days, 7 AM-4 PM, when children are present?
30 mph
15 mph
25 mph
20 mph
53
Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit in city/town areas?
30 mph
15 mph
20 mph
25 mph
54
Which of the following are acceptable forms of ID when applying for a driver's license?
Bank statement
Fishing license
Social Security card
Birth certificate
55
Permit Phase - nighttime driving restrictions (Sun.-Thurs.)
7 p.m.-7 a.m.
10 p.m.-6 a.m.
11 p.m.-6 a.m.
12 a.m.-6 a.m.
56
Reasons you might be denied a license, or have your license suspended
Violation of nighttime driving restrictions
Crash involving bodily harm or death
Alcohol consumption under age 21
Traffic citation
57
All children under age ___ must be secured in a child safety restraint system.
9
8
10
11
58
When being approached by an emergency vehicle using lights & sirens, you must...
remain stopped at an intersection until emergency vehicle passes.
possibly stop completely to allow emergency vehicle to pass.
pull to the right side & allow emergency vehicle to pass.
speed up & turn the nearest corner to get out of the path
59
A parent must give permission for a driver age 16-17 to obtain a Driver's License.
False
True
60
At a T-intersection with no traffic signs or symbols, who has the right of way?
B
A
61
What is the fee for an Instruction Permit?
$10
Free
$20
$30
62
A child must meet one of the following criteria to sit in a forward-facing seat:
Weigh more than 40 pounds
Age 2
Be potty-trained
Be more than 40 inches tall
63
It's OK to tuck the shoulder strap under the arm if it's uncomfortable across the body.
True
False
64
Signing a traffic ticket is an admission of guilt.
True
False
65
Permit Phase - number of passengers
1 person under age 20, unless passengers are siblings or children of driver
1 in front seat + number of safety belts in back
1 in front seat, none in back
66
Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit on interstates & tollways?
55 mph
65 mph
70 mph
60 mph
67
You must take the Adult Driver Education Course when you turn 18.
True
False
68
How can you recognize a funeral procession?
All cars in the procession will all be black.
All cars in the procession will have signs on the doors.
All cars in the procession will have headlights & hazard lights turned on.
All cars in the procession will have flags on the hood.
69
Who has the right of way?
The driver turning at a green light
The pedestrian in the crosswalk with a green light & a walk symbol
70
Officers are required to provide their names and badge numbers if you ask for them.
True
False
71
Permit Phase - nighttime driving restrictions (Fri.-Sat.)
7 p.m.-7 a.m.
11 p.m.-6 a.m.
10 p.m.-6 a.m.
12 a.m.-6 a.m.
72
How many practice hours must you log before applying for a Driver's License?
10 night hours
25 night hours
30 total hours
50 total hours