stud
bud
Sign up
Log in
Home
Library
Explore
SAT
More
TSBDE Rules and Regulations Spring 2025 Flashcards | StudBud
Explore
/
TSBDE Rules and Regulations Spring 2025
TSBDE Rules and Regulations Spring 2025
71 terms
·
StudBud Administration
·
19 plays
Imported from external platform
Flashcards
71 cards
F
Practice quiz
P
Host live
L
Questions
71
Answers
1
The board may order a licensee to pay restitution to a patient instead of or in addition to any administrative penalty.
False
True
2
1.Disciplinary matters are referred to as _______, while in non-disciplinary matters are referred to as ________
Petition of the State Board of Examiners, Formal Complaint
Formal Complaint, Petition of the State Board of Examiners
Formal Complaint, Petition for Formal Complaint
Petition of the State, Formal Complaint of the Board of Examiners
3
Military spouses with a valid license in another state can practice as an assistant in Texas for how many years?
4
5
3
2
4
A hygienist can administer nitrous oxide in Texas under direct supervision of a licensed dentist.
True
False
5
Texas dental assistants are required to complete 6 hours of CE per year
False
True
6
If an agency is required to provide a service or notice to any party regarding a decision or order they must ...
Notify by 1st class mail or personally
Address the notice with the party's address on file
Ensure notice is in writing
All of the above
7
The board will issue nitrous oxide monitoring endorsement after an RDH has proof of completing board approved course.
False
True
8
All dental x-ray laboratories operating in Texas must be under the general supervision of a Texas licensed dentist
True
False
9
A dental assistant may only perform reversible acts or procedures delegated by a dentist
False
True
10
Complaints that have no foundation or evidence to support them.
Baseless
A and B
Unfounded
Accusations
11
Each complaint received by the agency undergoes what type of investigation?
Criminal
Civil
Mandated
Preliminary
12
A dentist with a general anesthesia permit may only have ___ patient under anesthesia at the same time (except recovery)
1
3
2
4
13
How long are live/simulated clinical exam results valid for?
2 years
5 years
7 years
9 years
14
Copies of all advertisements should be retained for how long?
1 year
6 months
4 years
2 years
15
A DDS can ask the parent to leave the room if it is adversely affecting the treatment. Needs to be documented in file.
False
True
16
How long after the date of an official investigation of a complaint should an informal settlement conference be set?
180 days
120 days
100 days
200 days
17
How many years should you keep record of your continuing education courses?
Minimum of 1 year
No need to keep records
Minimum of 2 years
Minimum of 3 years
18
Human Trafficking is required every 2 years and counts toward the 24 hour requirement
True
False
19
How many hours of CE must be related to clinical or technical care?
16 hours
8 hours
12 hours
24 hours
20
A facility that practices dentistry is required to follow what level of government regulation?
All of the above
City
State
County
21
A dentist has how many days to notify the board for changes in his/her practice?
90 days
60 days
120 days
15 days
22
Who can approve delegated complaint resolutions?
The Texas State Supreme court
The Board's Executive Director
The Board in a public meeting
The licensee involved in the complaint
23
If an applicants application is denied for registration or renewal they have how many days to request a hearing?
60 days
30 days
20 days
14 days
24
The Board may issue a license to a dental hygienist applicant who is a military service member, veteran, or spouse
True
False
25
Board staff shall maintain a public profile of each licensee containing the following:
All of the above
Nitrous and sedation permits
Address
Current and former name(s)
26
A non-lead apron may be used if it provides protection equivalent to that of a lead apron.
False
True
27
Board members who are assigned on a case can communicate directly/indirectly with any party or representative.
False
True
28
Dentists should give a minimum of 30 days written notice of their intent to discontinue treatment.
False
True
29
Initial permit for local infiltration is $32 and will carry over with each renewal.
False
True
30
To serve of the dental review panel, a Dentist or RDH but demonstrate training regarding accepted standards of care
True
False
31
A licensee may publicize the receipt of a professional award, honor or recognition in advertisement if...
Proof of ownership/reward can be provided
The publication is not false, misleading, or deceptive
The publication is reviewed by board first
The publication has been approved by the organization who sponsored it
32
Steam autoclave, chemical vapor, dry heat, and ethylene oxide are all forms of:
Cold sterile
Sterilization
Disinfection
Processing
33
A dentist can independently diagnose obstructive sleep apnea (OSA).
True
False
34
Workers from TSDBE are to be given immediate access to a dental facility to verify compliance with sanitation control.
False
True
35
You may practice without your license on display for up to 30 days after receiving written confirmation from TSBDE.
False
True
36
Each of these is required biennial except ...
Jurisprudence
Human Trafficking
CPR basic life support
Proof of completion 24 CE hours
37
What is the purpose of the rules laid out by the TSBDE?
All of the above
To provide a simple and efficient system of procedures
To insure standard of practice and procedure
For public participation in notice of agency actions
38
Select the approved CE providers by the TSBDE
Academy of General Dentistry- PACE
American Association of Dental Boards (AADB- ACE)
American Dental Association (CERP)
All of the above
American Dental Hygiene Association
39
Local anesthesia infiltration can be performed on a patient who is sedated. (115.10)
False
True
40
A written accusation by a person about a practitioner's conduct in violation of the Dental Practice Act
Charge
Complaint
Protest
Allegation
41
How many days before an appearance before the Board should you submit a request to appear?
30 days
60 days
100 days
75 days
42
The expiration of the initial license expires 30 days after it is issued if license holder fails to pay required fee.
True
False
43
In Texas, a dental assistant may perform the following procedures if they meet the educational requirements.
Subgingival scaling
Impressions for final restorations
Supragingival scaling
Coronal polishing and sealants
44
If licensee has a conviction of a felony or misdemeanor offense, they may petition the board and submit required fee.
False
True
45
An applicant must have taken the jurisprudence within what time frame prior to applying for a dental hygiene license?
2 years
1 year
1 month
6 months
46
Falsification of continuing education is a violation of the dental practice act and subject to disciplinary action.
False
True
47
Failure to abide by the states sanitation and infection control is considered?
Malpractice
Assault
Negligence
Battery
48
A temporary suspension takes effect 30 days after it is initiated and remains in effect until the board ends it.
First false, second true
Both true
Both false
First true, second false
49
Sterilization as defined by the Texas State Board of Examiners is:
Elimination of all viruses
The elimination of angiosperm
Eliminating 99% of all living organisms
Complete elimination of all life on a surface
50
There can be up to 3 reviewers that communicate to determine whether the respondent has violated standard of care.
False
True
51
Patient dental records should be kept by a dentist for a minimum of how many years?
1 year
10 years
5 years
3 years
52
Falsification of completion of continuing education hours will NOT be subjected to disciplinary actions.
False
True
53
What does the Texas State Board have authority to do?
Assess penalties for non-licensed individuals
Impose penalties only after a public hearing
Assess penalties as disciplinary actions against licensed individuals
Issues fines without specific procedures
54
If a party who has the burden of proof fails to appear at a contested case hearing
the board may not consider petition until one year after dismisal
any relevant application will be withdrawn
All of the above
the administrative law judge shall dismiss the case for want of prosecution
55
A student in a dental hygiene program who believes they may be ineligible due to a conviction can petition the board.
False
True
56
Local anesthesia permits requires you to obtain ___ extra CE hours pertaining to local anesthesia biennial.
2
7
1
5
57
Which is considered a violation of "basic recordkeeping and patient communication?"
Failure to review and update patient contact
Failure to maintain emergency contacts
Failure to prepare for emergency protocol
Failure to provide inadequate intent to discontinue treatment notice
58
All of the following are required to be eligible for licensure EXCEPT:
Current BLS
Human Trafficking course
Graduated from CODA accredited dental hygiene school
21 years of age
59
How many hours of CE is required for biennial renewal of a dental hygiene license?
20
12
16
24
60
A formal complaint should include all of the following except:
statement alleging with reasonable certainty the specific violation
name of Respondent and his or her license, registration, or cert. number
All patient data relating to specific alleged violation
reference section of code that the respondent is alleged to have violated
61
Each dentist who is permitted by the DEA to prescribe controlled substances must complete __ hours of CE's for renewal.
6
2
1
8
62
How many health professionals who are not dentists can a dentist simultaneously delegate and supervise?
1
8
5
10
63
Which of these are NOT recognized specialties a dentist can advertise?
Oral medicine
Holistic care
Orofacial pain
Public Health
64
Minor dental records should be kept by a dentist for the following period of time
Until patient turns 18
10 years
15 years
5 years
65
A respondent may appear and be represented by their attorney; this right may also be waived.
First statement is false
First statement is true, second is false
Both statements are true
Both statements are false
66
Select those allowed to deliver placement of specific subgingival medications after SRP.
All of the above
B. Dentist
C. Dental Assistant
A. Dental Hygienist
A and B
67
Dental practice websites should clearly disclose:
All of the above
Services provided
Office address and contact information
Licensure of dentists and associated healthcare providers
Ownership of the website
68
How often should the jurisprudence assessment be completed?
Every 2 years
Every 4 years
Every 5 years
Once a year
69
Who is responsible for making copies of advertisements if they are requested by the board?
The hygienist
The media liaison
The office administrator
The advertising dentist
70
The board shall have the right in any proceeding to limit the number of witnesses whose testimony is merely cumulative.
True
False
71
Failure to provide original or copies of dental records will result in ...
All of the above
Administrative penalty
Civil or criminal penalty
Disciplinary action